The Power of Prayer

“You’ve done all you can.The only thing you can do now is pray.” It has been said that seven days without prayer makes one weak. In my case …a month. I lied to many of you that I am praying about my heartbreaking situation but who am I kidding.It has been said that, “If you are too busy for God, you are too busy.” Oh well I am too busy nursing the hurt and the anger residing in my heart that time, believing that I needed that. I have the right to cry and be at my most pathetic state that time and I was wrong.
 
The situation turned from bad to worst when I got sick…really sick.Close friends began to worry and my SFC unit leader asked me for a “date”.We talked. I tried my best not to cry.I was filled with anger during that time. So much anger that I talked with so much hate. She gave me words of encouragement and asked me to pray with her.I closed my eyes and I saw flashbacks of every hurting moment then I suddenly felt cold and light-headed then I began to pray silently as my unit leader prayed.I asked God to forgive me for not trusting Him enough that He can walked me through all of that happened.I asked God to help me forgive the person who have hurt me and also for Him to forgive me because I also hurt other people and finally I asked God to help me accept all of the things that I don’t understand and that cold feeling turned into a warm embrace. I went home that night and felt different. The “dragging” feeling was not there  anymore.Imagine.. how just one heartfelt prayer lessen the weight of my heartache. If only I prayed from the start maybe there would be less funny moments to talk about now.
 
I prayed to God that same night and after almost 4 weeks without good sleep I finally got one.I woke up the next day and prayed again for the same things – forgiveness and acceptance. The tears are still there but it became less and less until I am not crying anymore. During those times I uttered my most personal prayers as far as I can remember and suddenly things began to change. I begin to see things on a different light and blessings began to pour down on me and my family. I am not exaggerating this experience and I am not making up stories but until now I can still feel the power of my every prayer when I was hurting.
 
There’s no magic formula when it comes to prayer. It’s more of a dialogue with God.The power of prayer should not be underestimated like what I did.God most definitely listens to prayers, answers prayers, and moves in response to prayers. The power of prayer is not the result of the person praying. Rather, the power resides in the God who is being prayed to.This is the confidence we have in approaching God: that if we ask anything according to his will, He hears us. And if we know that He hears us – whatever we ask – we know that we have what we asked of Him. It’s the passion behind the prayer, or the purpose of the prayer – God answers prayers that are in agreement with His will. His answers are not always yes, but are always in our best interest. When our desires line up with His will, we will come to understand that in time. When we pray passionately and purposefully, according to God’s will, God responds powerfully.
 
In the midst of bad situations or even of my busy life I’ve learned that I must remember how much I need God and need prayer and make it as a daily practice and make it my first resort instead of my last. 
Leave a Reply

