My Last Twentieth.

The amazing thing about having a blog is the ability to reflect on a time of your life in the future. Through experience, I’ve learned so much over the last decade. Part of me wishes I knew then what I do now. But I guess you can’t develop that without enduring masasakit-sa-buto-situations. Life wants us to bleed first. The journey you go through to understand who you are, what you stand for, your values, beliefs and standards is not and will never be an easy path but it is an amazing one. Treasured lessons are found in tears, blood and sweat.
I feel like towards the end of your twenties, you come into your own and have some answers to what you once questioned. I’ve changed a lot in ways I didn’t expect to. I made different choices and I used my most important body organ to decide – my brain. For the past 10,590+ days of my glorious existence I can say that I learned to soak in all the magical moments, big, small and even the seemingly insignificant.
Here are some thoughts that I gathered from my scattered brain cells. Let me begin with pain. Everyone no matter how strong they think they are got a weak spot – mine? My skeletal system. We need to take some pains seriously – like back pains. Who would have thought that the athletic me got weak and unstable bones?
Forgiveness will make you beautiful. Everything will be light as feather and sunshine will be everywhere. You cannot hate someone for the rest of your life. We just need to let go of that. Sharing is caring BUT not everyone needs to know what you’re doing on your social networking sites. Playing it safe is not the best strategy. Prayer is still the most powerful wireless connection and God knows what is best for us. There’s a lesson hidden in everything. You just have to find it.
Life is about holding on and letting go – the challenge is to know when and I am still working on it. On my 29th I finally decided to say goodbye to some of my quirks. I need to move on from my dream of becoming an actress / drug lord / mermaid / (insert crazy stuff here). The goals I set for myself last year were fulfilled (most of them). My hopes and prayers were answered (majority wins). My mind is at peace and so is my heart. Clarity and certainty already said their hellos.
29 years and counting and as I become a year older I can say that life, even for the most parts wants me to bleed, is still good. As the sun rises on my 29th tomorrow, I feel appreciative of the past, contentment for the now and excitement for the future. With lots of changes on the horizon, I have a sense this final chapter of my twenties will be the best yet – just like that giddy feeling last year.

Leave a Reply

