If you like it – bake it.

Last weekend we went to Festival City  and my husband being supportive (as always) pushed me in buying majority of the things I needed for baking – ingredients included.Like a kid, I roamed around with the push cart checking out prices and other stuff that I need or think I need. At some point I doubted myself if I can do it right. Tags told me that I need to do it so I’ll know if I can do it and where I need improvements. After spending two hours – I am done, he purchased the trays, ingredients etc.

I love red velvet that’s why I’ve decided to brave the path of baking it.

Here’s the recipe I found for Red Velvet Cupcakes.

  • For the cupcakes:
  • 2 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoons + 2 teaspoons cocoa
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 2 teaspoons vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons red food coloring
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup packed brown sugar
  • For the frosting:
  • 4 cups powdered sugar
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 3/4 cup cream cheese
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Instructions

  1. Mix the dry ingredients – flour, cocoa,baking powder and salt. Sift three times and set aside. Mix the wet ingredients – buttermilk, vinegar, vanilla extract and food coloring. Mix well and set aside as well.
  2. In a large bowl, mix together both sugars, oil and eggs. Eggs can be added in one go but make sure that everything is well incorporated.
  3. Add in one third of the dry ingredients and then add in one half of the wet ingredients.
  4. Repeat step 3 until all are combined. Just barely mix, until you cannot see streaks of flour in the batter.
  5. Per 3oz baking cups, pour 3 tablespoons of the batter. Bake at 180C for 18 minutes or until done.
  6. To make the frosting, mix together cream cheese, butter, vanilla and sifted powdered sugar until smooth.
  7. Pipe frosting into the cupcakes and top with sprinkles.

 It was an intense session since it is my first time to try baking and according to books and friends – proper measuring is critical to baking and baking is a science, and when you mix together ingredients, you’re creating chemistry, albeit edible chemistry, so being precise is important.

redvelvet
I need to work on the presentation of my finish product next time :)

After cooling it down and adding the frosting. I just realized how important it is to have an electric mixer. The frosting tasted good but it is not as thick as I imagined it to be.I improvised the pipe for the frosting – thanks  to my sister for suggesting. My arms and shoulders were sore after I tried to beat it manually at high speed (crazy idea) but yeah not bad for a first timer :) And yep, they were a big batch of cupcakes… I put too much batter on the cups.

Hurrah! I did it.

Fellow first time bakers if you know any recipes and tips let me know so that I can widen my selection too. :)

Leave a Reply

