Cinnamon Rolls and Procrastination

My husband loves cinnamon rolls (specially the gooey yummy Cinnabon). I assume that it is his comfort food. Since I’ve started baking(ahem!) I keep on browsing cinnamon rolls recipe (there are thousands out there) and told him that I will bake it for him. I saw the excitement in his eyes and as usual he is very supportive. So there I channelled my inner Betty ( Crocker  – which by the way is an imaginary person!)

We went to IKEA because I need to purchase some of my “baking equipment” Got home around past 9pm – I need to check on Ellie because priorities first. Our darling patootie woke up around 1030pm. Soooo how can I start baking? Well yeah I kept on delaying my cinnamon-roll-baking-session just because I am not confident enough that I can do it. Honestly, I am not a confident baker, yet. But I faced my fears and started gathering all of the ingredients.

I finished baking around 2Am just because I really stick to the recipe that I found although I made some alteration and modification in this recipe.

DOUGH

  • 1 cup lukewarm milk
  • 2 large eggs, at room temperature
  • 1/3 cup unsalted butter, cut up
  • 4 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 3/4 teaspoons salt
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons instant yeast or active dry yeast

FILLING

  • 1/3 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 3 tablespoons cinnamon powder

ICING

  • 6 tablespoons (generous 1/3 cup) cream cheese, softened
  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions:

IMG_9243

  1. Make the dough: Set aside 1/2 cup of flour. In a large bowl, toss the 2 and 1/4 cups flour, the sugar, salt, and yeast together until evenly dispersed. Set aside.
  2. Heat the water, milk, and butter together in the microwave until the butter is melted and the mixture is hot to touch. About 115°F (46°C). Stir the butter mixture into the flour mixture. Add the egg and only enough of the reserved flour to make a soft dough. I only needed 1/3 cup, but you may need the full 1/2 cup. Dough will be ready when it gently pulls away from the side of the bowl and has an elastic consistency.
  3. On a lightly floured surface, knead the dough for about 3-4 minutes. Place in a lightly greased bowl and let rest for about 10 minutes.
  4. Make the filling: After 10 minutes, roll the dough out. Spread the softened butter on top. Mix together the cinnamon and sugar and sprinkle it all over the dough. Add more cinnamon/sugar if desired. Roll up the dough tightly. Cut into 11-12 even pieces and place in a lightly greased 9-inch round pan.
  5. Loosely cover the rolls with  foil and allow to rise in a warm, draft-free place for 60-90 minutes. Here is what I do: heat the oven to 200°F (93°C). Turn oven off. Place rolls inside oven and allow to rise.
  6. After the rolls have doubled in size, preheat the oven to 375°F (190°C). Bake for 25-30 minutes until lightly browned.
  7. Make the glaze: Mix the confectioners’ sugar, vanilla and cream cheese until smooth and drizzle over rolls.If you prefer a thicker glaze, add more confectioners’ sugar and then add a pinch of salt to cut the sweetness, if desired.
  8.  Glaze the rolls immediately before serving.

    NOTE: The first batch is not a happy batch. I put too much butter on the pan because I got scared that they might be dry and will stick into the pan – but then again the butter and the sugar became caramel and they died. :(

signature2

 

Leave a Reply

