Marshmallow Fondant

I am taking it to the next level… but in baby steps :)

I challenged myself into making a marshmallow fondant.. I believe what I read “easy-to-make-recipe” and surprisingly it was true!I am so nervous because my brother said that I need to make it yummy because for some reasons I volunteered to bake a cake for Ellie’s 7th month and the coming monthsaries too!

Friday morning after our beach bonding we went to HyperPanda to buy some stuff like the Crisco Shortening and additional measuring cups and spoons,spatula etc. I need to control myself from buying baking things!

pr-mini

Ingredients

16 ounces white mini marshmallows (use a good brand – I used CAMPFIRE) 

2-5 tablespoons water

2 pounds icing sugar 

1/2 cup Crisco Shortening

So here it goes:

Melt marshmallows and 2 tablespoons of water in a microwave: Put the bowl in the microwave for 30 seconds, open microwave and stir, back in microwave for 30 seconds more, open microwave and stir again, and continue doing this until melted.It usually takes about 2 ½ minutes total. Place 3/4 of the powdered sugar on the top of the melted marshmallow mix. Be careful because it is hot!

marshmallowfondant1

Now grease your hands GENEROUSLY – palms, backs and in between fingers, then heavily grease the counter/table you will be using and dump the bowl of marshmallow/sugar mixture in the middle.Start kneading like you would bread dough. You will immediately see why you have greased your hands.

Keep kneading, this stuff is sticky at this stage! Add the rest of the powdered sugar and knead some more.Re-grease your hands and counter when the fondant is sticking. If the mix is tearing easily, it is to dry, so add water (about ½ tablespoon at a time then knead it in). It usually takes me about 8 minutes to get a firm smooth elastic ball so that it will stretch without tearing when you apply it to the cake.

marshmallowfondant2

Prepare the fondant icing for storing by coating it with a good layer of Crisco shortening, wrap in a plastic-type wrap product and then put it in a re-sealable or Ziploc bag. Squeeze out as much air as possible.

For coloring the fondant – I used Foster’s. After storing the kneaded finish product in the refrigerator overnight I took some and  tint the fondant the desired color. I put green and red :)

IMG_9690

Now it’s time to start. Your cake should be baked, and completely cooled. You can trim it now and then place the cake on a prepared cake board. I personally find that shaping first is the easiest and then transferring the cake.

Give the top and sides of the cake a nice thick 1/4 inch of Buttercream Icing NOTE: At first I was wondering why I needed to bother with this step. Well, there are a couple of reasons: The buttercream icing helps the fondant icing to “stick” to the cake and this cushion of undercoating icing helps to give you the beautiful smooth nearly perfect finish that you are looking for. For a round cake, make a disk shape. For a rectangular make a log shape.

signature2

Leave a Reply

