bbq beef ribs

ola! I’ve been very busy doing some office and house stuff – but like what I promised to myself.. I am not going to neglect my blog again :) so here I am!

Ellie is now 8 months! time flies fast. argh! I didn’t bake anything over the weekend. We just purchase a regular cake when we went for grocery. We were craving for some meat and while we were driving around the city I just realized that why not cook something sumptuous like bbq beef short ribs! My husband loves bbq ribs plus the fact that he is very supportive of my kitchen chronicles he told me to do it and so I did.

We purchased a kilo of beef short ribs some herbs and spices + seasonings and  veggies to balance the main course – I went for broccoli, carrots, potatoes and corn. I searched some recipes online that seems yummy and smoky but then again I don’t have enough time to marinade my version overnight.

Prep time: 30 minutes | Cook time : 3hours 15mins |

Ingredients:

1/4 cup paprika
1 tablespoon garlic powder
Rock salt and freshly ground black pepper
2 cups barbecue marinade
2 teaspoons thyme powder
1/2 teaspoon cumin
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1 kilo short-ribs

Since I am running out of time and I don’t want my homies to eat dinner so late. I did a little bit of shortcut. Don’t worry this will not sacrifice the taste and quality of the short ribs :) I boiled 1 kilo of short ribs with 1 cup of water, 1/2 cup of soy sauce, rock salt and a dash of pepper for 20 minutes. This reduced the cooking time.

Preheat the oven to 300 degrees F.

Season the short ribs all over with salt and pepper.

Combine all of the ingredients with BBQ sauce in a small bowl and stir until smooth then I dip and coat the beef short ribs. I covered the ribs with foil so that it will be moist and juicy and will not be dried out.

Then put them inside the oven. Check them every 1 hour and add garlic powder and barbecue sauce. During the last 30 minutes I slightly opened the foil  – this time the sauce will be in between dry and sticky.Remove from oven. The meat should be fork tender and ready to fall off the bone. :)

I found out there are lots of different ways to cook bbq beef ribs and I guess I will try other recipes next time. My sister told me that I need to experiment more so that I can at least perfect my own bbq beef ribs version. Hmmm will see.

IMG_0716

I cooked the side dish while the ribs are still inside the oven – I spent a lot of time with my potatoes (no picture available sorry.) I put herbs and olive oil and baked it for an hour. I guess I did everything right with it. My brother likes it (he is potato crazy – his mojos recipe is superb!)

If you know other great recipes kindly let me know so that I can also try.

signature2

Leave a Reply

