Mrs.Tags Cooks : Baked Mussels

on

We went to Fish Market last weekend and we bought crabs, shrimps, different kinds of fish and mussels! I love mussels that it is always on the list whenever my mom or dad will go to the market when I was still a kid.I heart seafood.Here in Dubai they are so expensive and you cannot find them in a regular basis (or maybe I am not aware) so when I found them – we bought them. I insisted.

I was planning to do the usual way of cooking mussels – with ginger and green leafy veggies included but my sister suggested to try baking them and that’s when another kitchen escapade happened.

I’ve read a lot of recipes online for the perfect baked mussels most of them are easy to do but the ingredients are expensive and I am not going to spend for something that I cannot use a lot.

So I checked and checked and decided to have my own version of baked mussels.

Here it goes:

Ingredients:

  • 1kg fresh large mussels
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1tsp. salt
  • 1tsp.ground pepper
  • 1 head of Garlic
  • Bread Crumbs
  • Cheese
  • Chili pepper
  • Thyme
  • Basil

These are seven easy steps that you can follow :

  1. Scrub the mussels well  and wash under running water. Put into a large pan and cover with water, put a lid on the pan and bring to a boil over high heat.

    IMG_1752

  2. Cook until the mussels open. Drain and remove the empty halves of the shells and place the halves containing the mussels on a baking tray.

    IMG_1755

  3. Heat the butter in a frying pan then add the garlic and fry the breadcrumbs, stirring, until golden brown add the salt and pepper.
  4. Place a little of the mixture on top of each baked mussel and press down slightly.IMG_1759
  5. Then sprinkle some basil leaves for more flavour
  6. Place the cheese on top of the mussels and sprinkle again with thymeIMG_1761
  7. Put the baking tray into the preheated oven (200 degrees C) for about 10 minutes, or until the cheese topping melts. Serve the baked mussels hot.IMG_1765The steps are very easy and you can actually bake(cook) this during weekends or as an appetizer with your regular bbq and meats. I am sure your guests would love you forever for pampering them with this utterly mouthwatering recipe. :)
Leave a Reply

