Because I am your mother – that’s why.

My creativity got stuck somewhere, hence the creative title for this post.

I just feel that I need to post something like this for Ellie to read when she’s old enough to read and understand AND contemplate. :)

We love our daughter so much that sometimes I feel like we are spoiling her. Then we feel like we are spoiling her so we hold back. But yeah, I don’t believe that 1 or 2-year-olds can be spoiled. They still don’t know things. She doesn’t even know my name yet (maybe she does… but I don’t know.)

I just want to say a few words to her in writing. I know that when she grows up I will be a clingy-nagging-cool-mommy to her. She might hate me for that but I don’t care. I am her mother and that’s one of my many privileges.

Dear Ellie,

When you got the chance to read this  – I suppose you’re on the right age and can actually think about whatever words I wrote here. I may not be cool as I think I am… but I am trying to be. You’re one of the best gifts that I got my whole life. We prayed for you and we worried about you all the time. I often triple check if you’re on track when it comes to your milestones and you never failed me. You’re one amazing kid.

You might hate me for being a stage mother. But let me be. I will support you all the way. I just want you to know that when you’re still on my tummy, we prayed that you’ll be Miss Universe when the time comes. We can still push through with that IF you want or whatever it is that you want to be or want to do.

Your dad and I want you to be kind and brave. We want you to appreciate simple things and give value to the importance of family, to learn and earn respect, to be honest, and loving. I want you to know that even if you grow old enough to have your own family, we are still here for you even if you don’t need us anymore, even if you’re old enough to make your own decisions and face the challenges that life will bring you. Our love for you is endless and you will always be part of us. I don’t want you to forget that ever.

There will be times that you might feel that we are against you but we are not. We just have to define the thin line that separates parents to their children. It is our responsibility as parents to discipline you and instill good values and right conduct. But it will not mean that we hate you or don’t want you to be happy. Sometimes your happiness can do more harm than good and until you’re old enough to know that, we are here to guide you. 

Life is tough. You will learn to forgive us for our  shortcomings but remember that we tried to make an effort to give you all the best things in life from your day one. I am saying this to you because  I am your mother. You might not like the “motherly-stuff” that I do but you’ll miss it terribly when I stop doing it too.

We love you so much.

I know that all parents out there – even if you’re not expressive, we all want our kids to be on the right path. Your parenting style might be different from ours but we all have one main goal and that is to raise an individual who will be a responsible adult and an individual capable of handling life.

signature2

 

Leave a Reply

