Staycation and Realizations.

It was not planned like other staycations we had during the past months but this made me realized a lot of things as a mom, as a wife and and as a person. Tags work schedule will be different than the past 6 months and he will not have a weekend off for this month, so he wanted to make this weekend worthwhile.

We booked a hotel in Abu Dhabi – we opt for Sheraton but they are fully booked during our preferred dates after one whole day of searching we booked for Al Raha Beach Hotel. We booked here because based on the reviews they are kid friendly and got a kids club and a nice kiddie pool too. Ellie is with us so this is not a romantic getaway with Tags.

There are lots of things inside my head. Ever since I became a mother I always caught myself overthinking and over analyzing a lot of things. I want to share these with you, not for you to judge me, but for me to check if I am alone in these thoughts.

The days are long but the years are short. I realized that Ellie is no longer a baby. We were watching her a she splashed the pool water… when Tags whispered that there’ll be a day that she will get married and he will cry. True enough, the years are really short. It seems like yesterday we were waiting for her to come out of this world and now she is throwing tantrums!

I wonder what’s the right age to finally accept Ellie’s independence. I know she’s just turning two, but during the whole trip – she is trying to do things on her own. Small things – like drinking in a glass, wearing her shoes, dressing herself, walking alone, trying to swim alone etc. Seriously? She is almost two and I felt like I am not needed anymore. [Clingy mother alert!!!]

I always thought about these moments. Yes… it is true. It dawned upon me that this is what I want. Walking hand in hand with my husband, wondering what to eat, where to go and what to do next. Planning for the future and thinking about what is in store for us. Yes. Whatever we have now is what I wanted and what I kept on praying for. Thank you Lord for the gift of family.

My husband is a blessing – no matter what. Well… I get pissed off and annoyed and irritated. We have our moments. We shared the same negative emotions but we sort things out and we don’t let these bad vibes get the best of us. Tags has always been a great father to Ellie. The way he takes care of her, the way he looks at her with love and joy and the efforts he exerts to provide all of our needs and wants. He is a wonderful husband too, marrying a crazy girl like me is a challenge.I don’t have to explain this further. He is a blessing to me…to us… rain or shine.

Time spent with the people we love = life’s precious moments. I was looking at them from a distance and I realized that, that exact moment is what I am living for. Seeing both my daughter and husband happy and well and filled with love cannot be exchanged for anything. Moments with your love ones will never be replaced. The people that I have in my life now are gifts to me. Whatever I have now I wished and prayed for.

There are a lot more thoughts in between these and a number of subtopics too… but there’s one thing that I don’t have to think or question about…and that is I love being a wife to my husband and a mother to our daughter. I might overthink, overreact and overdo numerous things when it comes to our family but for sure… all mothers do.

signature2

Leave a Reply

