Rose Water for Skin Care.

Being the lazy me – I really don’t spend a lot of time for vanity. I have high regards for beauty – nice hair, skin… – basically I admire those people who really scores an A when it comes to outside appearance.

When I became a mother I realized that there’s a need to look after myself like how I look after my husband and our baby. It’s true how motherhood changes you – emotionally, spiritually and the most noticeable of them all – physically. Since I don’t splurge on beauty products (thank God for Tags who is my beauty products supplier) I try to practice a cost-effective beauty regimen (thank you Pinterest!)

rose-736873_640

I will be sharing with you one of my favourites beauty ingredient – R O S E W A T E R. You read it right… I used the word ingredient, because it is used for food and to flavour some drinks. Few cosmetic items and toners that I checked have rose water in it too.

Rose-Water-3-400x400Rosewater is very fragrant liquid. According to research, it has anti-inflammatory and anti-bacterial properties that hydrates the skin. I’ve got a very problematic skin. I use to have breakouts here, there and everywhere. It is good for people like me who are acne prone because it helps calm the skin.

I just pour a small amount of chilled rose water on a cotton ball and swipe over my face right after cleansing with a mild soap. So instead of buying chemically infused toners I am just using this as an alternative.It will close the open pores and make the skin give off a pleasant floral fragrance. To refresh my eyes I also put rosewater-soaked cotton on my under eye. If you don’t want to directly apply the water to your skin, you can add a few drops to your cream before applying it.

Rose water also helps to revitalise ageing skin. Meaning it reduces wrinkles and fine lines. Huda Heidi Kattan – one of the popular beauty influencers blogged about rosewater for gorgeous skin in her website.

bottle-of-rose-water

Adding rosewater to your shampoo can promote hair growth – it can also soothe the scalp and helps to get rid of dandruff. In this hot weather scalp irritation is very common. Don’t worry about the scent because it smells really nice.

Just to sum it up Rose water can give us these amazing things:

  • Shiny hair
  • Lighten scars
  • Tighten pores
  • Soothe eyes
  • Purify our skin
  • Prevent breakouts

You can also try this DIY facial mask that I tried with the use of rosewater and some stuff that are also found inside our kitchen.

SKIN SOOTHING MASK

  • 1 pc cucumber – chilled.
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • Drops of rose water
  1. Grate or blend cold cucumbers add honey.
  2. Add few drops of rosewater
  3. Before applying wash your face with warm water.
  4. Pat dry and apply the mask. Wait for it to dry and rinse.
  5. Do it once a week

INSTANT GLOW MASK

The 3 main ingredients –turmeric, baking soda + rose water alone can work wonders. These help fight free radicals that speed up aging. I tried turmeric and honey before it is also effective!!!

  • 1tsp Turmeric
  • 1tsp pure baking soda
  • Pure Rose water: Just enough to make a paste with toothpaste consistency.
  1. Mix everything. Make sure that it is pasty.
  2. Apply it on your face and wait for it to dry. Your face mask will be yellow-orange then a bit pinkish after some time.
  3. Wash your face with warm water followed by cold water to close the pores.

I hope this skincare post helps you too. Let me know if you tried these two or even just one and share with me the results. Skin care doesn’t have to be expensive as long as it works for us in maintaining both our health and beauty.

Share the love, give me some cost-effective beauty tips too!

signature2

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

