CASTOR OIL for hair and skin care.

Last week I posted about the benefits of using rosewater. I shared these with my mom and few of my friends and got a good review about this cost-effective beauty ingredient. Today I want to tell you about two oils that we are using at home – Castor and Almond oil.

Castor oil is extracted by pressing the seeds of the castor plant, also known as Ricinus communis. It is a vegetable oil, and the plant is largely native to Africa and India. But the oil has been made famous all over the world for its anti-inflammatory and antibacterial properties. It is used in various cosmetics, soaps, textiles, massage oils, and even medicines, owing to the fact that it has plenty of benefits for your skin, hair, and health.

Should-Use-Castor-Oil-1

Because of thorough research on how I can make my eyelashes LONGER I discovered the many benefits of castor oil.Castor oil is very well know for being a laxative. The taste is not good and I am not kidding when I say not good but it really helps. Aside from being known to aid bowel movements this oil can also reduce the signs of skin ageing. Castor oil, when applied to the skin, penetrates deeply and stimulates the production of collagen and elastin. This, in turn, helps soften and hydrate the skin. It delays the appearance of wrinkles and fine lines and makes the skin smoother, softer, and younger. The fine lines around the eye area can also be treated with its application. I read that since it stimulated production and collagen and elastin putting this in my tummy prevents stretch marks during my pregnancy :)

Castor oil also cures corn and calluses – the fatty acids in the oil will soften the corn and, over a period of about a week, remove the corn and moisturize the skin. Castor oil is often overlooked as a health and beauty treatment and is often only thought of as a remedy for constipation, but it has a long history of being used for many other healing and beauty enhancing treatments too.

Currently, I am using this to moisturize my skin and for the growth of my eyelashes. My husband also uses this for his haircare (combined with Almond Oil which I will post about soon). Take note that the oil contains omega-6 and omega-9 fatty acids, both of which are useful for encouraging healthy hair growth.

Achieving our beauty goals might take a lot of time specially if we are using natural oils, without chemicals and technological enhancements – but the advantage is that we are not harming our skin and we are doing it the proper way. Usually having our beauty regimen or routine will not require us to undergo procedures that can alter our look. Take note that the main goal is to take care of our skin :)

signature2

Leave a Reply

