10 Signs Your Toddler Rules The House

I recently told my friends that I quit on tidying up our house.I cannot do it anymore. I quit. I know they say that let our kids be little…so I am letting Ellie be. For parents who got toddlers… I know that deep in your hearts you sincerely understand and you’re slowly nodding your head because you know…you know… what made me quit – tidying up.

Ellie owns the house – the car and even our bed. She rules the house and we are not complaining.

IMG_95081)Her stuff are everywhere.  Currently our little one owns more or less 10 stuff animals –  majority are bears and they are not small bears, one giant unicorn, tons of balls plus a play tent. Plus the tiny trinkets that she considers as treasures like keychains, keys and pens etc. and there’s no place inside our house and car even, that you cannot find a trace of her. It’s like she’s leaving them… to mark her territory.

2)You cannot finish ONE task easily. She knows what she wants and sometimes she wants what you want. I was doing the laundry the other day and Ellie joined me by putting out the clothes out of the hamper and brought them to our living room. I was dusting the shelves inside our room and she helped me by throwing out the books on the floor.

3)Food everywhere. Biscuits on the sofa. Rice on the bed.Juice spills on the floor and the list goes on.

4)One of the corners of the house is an extension of a play area. It’s Ellie’s corner. I imagined her going there to play and read her books, solve puzzles and other toddler activities. Now, I know that it’s all in my head… so much for my imagination…refer to item number 1.

5) Remember when you have glass and ceramic stuff at home? They are now PLASTIC. We bought colourful  utensils and glasses and even plates for her. Safety first.

6) Your TV channel preferences switched from News to Kids channel. Just like how you’re reading rhymes and storybooks when by heart you love novels and newspapers and fashion magazines!

7) The corners are no longer there. Again, another safety precaution. Toddlers love to run around  and defy the laws of physics and other laws of the universe.

8) The top shelves are full. There are times when we want everything on display – vases, picture frames, we even opt for a clock table instead of regular one. Now everything fragile,shiny and nice to look at, are all placed way up the cupboards or hidden somewhere little-miss-I-want-to-play-with-it cannot see.

9) Prints and writings everywhere. There’s no need for me to elaborate on this. I know that it is sometimes funny to see her prints in places we didn’t expect but what should we do… she is a toddler.

10)Adults in the house are either ninjas or prone to mini-heart attacks. Ellie started to jump from the sofa and our hearts jump with her too. She learned how to snatch the glass from the table –  with our hearts attached to it as well. She acts as if she is going to fall from the bed and I know she will fall from the bed that’s when my inner ninja comes out. Adults begin to have great reflexes at home.

But hey, after all the mess and mini heart-attacks, our house is filled with joy and laughter every single day. And sooner or later we will be missing these crazy moments with them.

What are your toddlers up to and how are you coping? :)

signature2

 

Leave a Reply

